Tag Info

New answers tagged


In my shul, we put the first one on the left. I'm really not sure what minhag is followed though, because it's a mixed shul.


Qitzur Shulhhan Arukh - Yalqut Yosef, Siman 56:11 writes (my translation): מנהג האשכנזים כדעת הרמ''א, לעמוד בשעה שעונים קדיש וברכו, וספרדי שמתפלל עם אשכנזים, נכון שיעמוד גם הוא עמהם בעת אמירת קדיש וברכו, כדי שלא יהיה בכלל יושב בין העומדים. The Ashkenazi custom, per the ReM"A, is to stand when responding to Qaddish and Barekhu. And, as for a ...


There is an ashkenazi trop for Tehillim, Mishlei, and Iyov (טעמי אמ"ת) but it was reconstructed from the Sephardic tradition. KAJ in Washington Heights chants Tehillim 29 with that trop on Friday nights. You can buy software to learn Ta'amei emet, and find sample mp3s from the software here.


There was an Ashkenazi Tehillim trop mesorah, but it was lost about half a century ago: R' Yisroel Rabinovich of Monsey, NY, is a master baal koreh and baal dikduk. He told me that as a young Yerushalmi boy, he met the last living man who knew the Ashkenazi cantillations for Tehillim. Unfortunately, at the time, neither R' Rabinovich, nor anyone else ...


I don't have a source for this, but my own experience with leining and being a corrector for other leiners. But see Rabbi Jeremy Wieder's leining on YUTorah for confirmation of what I say. Note also that my experience is with American and British leining -- other Ashkenazim might have other minhagim. The only time I give the munach a sound all its own is ...

Top 50 recent answers are included