Kashrut (also kashruth or kashrus, כשרות or כַּשְׁרוּת) is the set of Jewish dietary laws.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (3)

7
votes
1answer
84 views

Is human placenta kosher?

There is, apparently, something called placenta encapsulation which means making pills out of a placenta postpartum for the purpose of digesting placenta. People claim that these pills offer unique ...
2
votes
2answers
44 views

Does soy milk need a hechshir

Does soy milk need a hechshir since they put in artificial things that can be trayf or its all natural and it won't need a hechshir
3
votes
1answer
78 views

The Torah's list of animals with one kosher sign

I have a question that has been troubling me for many years and I have never received a satisfactory response. On March 22, 2005 THE NY Times had an article entitled Religion and Natural History ...
7
votes
1answer
339 views

Creating a crowd-sourced database of non-dairy OU-D products

Several questions/answers on this site have pointed out that the OU-D hechsher does not always mean that the product is actually dairy. (But that it is, in reality, "OU-DE" [dairy equipment]. See here ...
-4
votes
0answers
53 views

Marshmallow Mistakes [closed]

From my shul's kashrus guidelines: Products from Israel, under rabbinical supervision, are reliable! However, you must make sure that the product does not contain gelatin (even "kosher" gelatin). ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

In vitro meat — further questions

Related to this question: Does artificial meat grown in a petri dish have the halachic status of meat? Assuming that in vitro meat becomes widespread and assuming that it would be hechshered per the ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

Eating at Home and Maarit Ayin

Short question: is maarit ayin (מראית עין) a problem when one is home alone? Long question: assuming that in-vitro meat is pareve, even if it is maarit ayin to eat it with milk in public, would it be ...
12
votes
1answer
156 views

Milk-free cheese: Is it kosher? Parve?

So according to this article, scientists have created cheese by inserting DNA blueprints into a yeast. Essentially, the milk proteins are being created outside of any animal, through genetic ...
1
vote
0answers
10 views

Proper course for one realizing he is eating something forbidden [duplicate]

Suppose one was eating a piece of chicken, and he finds out it was from a non slaughtered chicken. Does Halacha require him to try to throw up?
4
votes
1answer
233 views

What defines “hard cheese” [duplicate]

I grew up with the minhag that after "hard cheese", one must wait for 15 minutes before one may eat meat. However, the question often arises as to what qualifies as such in terms of halacha and ...
7
votes
1answer
258 views

How to increase the demand for kosher food?

I live in the Hartford Connecticut area and while the population of people who practice the Jewish faith is increasing, the ability to find Kosher food is on the decline. Even the local Kosher grocery ...
1
vote
1answer
76 views

Does jam have the halacha of duchka d'sakina?

The Chochmas Adom in 49:9 holds that all fruit have the halacha of duchka d'sakina, and that if you cut a fruit with a meat knife which was not definitively clean, you need to scrape off the outer ...
5
votes
1answer
399 views

Does electronic cigarette juice require a hechsher?

Does electronic cigarette "juice" need to be kosher (require a hechsher)? Does it matter what flavor the juice is?
4
votes
4answers
915 views

Can Jews eat hunted animals?

Are Jews allowed to eat hunted animals? That means the animals are dead before getting their necks cut. I do not think that a large proportions of ancient Jews were hunters, but I would be surprised ...
18
votes
3answers
695 views

Does an ivory spoon make hot tea non-kosher?

Both the handles of cutlery and entire spoons have been made of elephant ivory, which is from a tusk (a tooth) of an elephant. Elephant is of course not a kosher animal. Presumably, then, these spoons ...
10
votes
1answer
159 views

How was kosher cheese made before artificial rennet?

I understood that cheese is made by throwing in Stomach hide into milk and letting it congeal. How was kosher cheese made (where one's not allowed to mix milk and meat)? Now we use chemicals or ...
3
votes
1answer
62 views

Eating in a non-kosher household [duplicate]

I am a converted Jew (mother is not Jewish, father is) who has recently began keeping Kosher. My mother is an excellent cook, and I greatly enjoyed eating what she made growing up. I still would like ...
7
votes
1answer
410 views

Who or what is OV? (kosher symbol)

In the store earlier, I saw a kosher symbol I had never seen before, and was wondering if anyone here knows what organization it represents. Here is the symbol: [ What is odd is that it looks like ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

How big can insects be before falling into kashrut halacha?

So we typically clean vegetable matter of bugs because, while it isn't an aveirah to eat a bug part if it's smaller than a(n) (halachic) olive, it is still prohibited to eat any non-kosher living ...
2
votes
1answer
53 views

What can you look for to ensure that a vegan restaurant is Kosher? [duplicate]

Vegan restaurants claim to serve strictly vegetable and plant-based meals. They would seem to be automatically Kosher, but I've read and heard that there could be other Kosher issues. What are ...
9
votes
2answers
347 views

Whatever happened to plumbas?

Not so many years ago, a plumba (apparently created by Rabbi Jacob Joseph) -- a metal tag attached to the wing of a kosher chicken indicating that it was, indeed, kosher -- on a kosher chicken was the ...
4
votes
4answers
271 views

Using a non-kosher rotating pizza oven

A countertop rotating pizza oven has a turntable on which pizza is placed. It has two heating elements: one heats from below the turntable, like a hot plate. A heating element above broils a section ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Wait 6 hours after milk?

I once came across someone who was avoiding the meat at a lunchtime simcha. When I asked him why, he said it was because he had eaten "cereal with milk" at breakfast. When I expressed confusion, ...
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Can I use the Flavia coffee machine in my workplace?

There is a coffee machine (also makes tea and hot chocolate) in my workplace that uses individual packets (not pods) for the drinks. I do not know what the mechanism is for turning that into a drink ...
8
votes
2answers
87 views

plastic utensil absorption and kashering

Does a plastic utensil swallow up taste and excrete it out like metal,or is it like glass. Also can plastic be kashered if it became treif? What are the sources that discuss this?
4
votes
2answers
928 views

Kosher status of medicine that comes in a gel capsule

What are the kashruth issues involved in the taking of gel-capsule medicine which does not have kosher certification?
3
votes
0answers
22 views

Are you allowed to take pills with gelatin [duplicate]

According to Halacha, are you allowed to take pills that are covered with gelatin? It's an antibiotic for acne.
3
votes
1answer
139 views

Kashrus Explained

A close friend of mine asked me to fire this question at the mi.yodeya community so here goes: "I came across this rather interesting rendition of "kashrus Explained", not sure who authored it, but I ...
9
votes
3answers
318 views

Does kosher mean healthy?

What is the relation between kosher and healthiness? G-d wants us to eat properly but also to be healthy. For example, it is better to try not to eat too much meat (even if it's kosher), and more ...
2
votes
4answers
140 views

If the majority of organic and/or free range eggs contain blood spots, why are they certified kosher? [closed]

Variables that are known of the organic and/or free range: I don't believe the eggs with blood are just protein spots even though brown eggs through observation usually do contain more protein spots ...
5
votes
1answer
66 views

Homebrewer then converts; are there leniencies that allow him to drink the beer he made?

Suppose a gentile is a homebrewer who later converts to Judaism. Fermentation and aging can be long-running processes, so even if he knew to anticipate the problem and ceased homebrewing activities ...
5
votes
1answer
120 views

The Sciatic Nerve and Fat of Kosher Fowl

I have learned that the sciatic nerve must be removed from land animals to render the meat kosher. But what about fowl? Does the sciatic nerve need to be removed from chicken or turkey? Why or why ...
6
votes
1answer
360 views

Does flavored dental floss need a hechsher?

You can find flavored dental floss these days usually in the flavor of mint. Is there anything to worry about or is it no worse than mint mouthwash? If not, doesn't the gemarah in berachot 6th perek ...
3
votes
0answers
64 views

The opinion that microwaves don't need to be kashered

So I remember hearing this opinion that followed like this: "Microwaves do not need to be kashered because the means of cooking in a microwave are different than those spoken about in the Gemara." ...
7
votes
0answers
91 views

*Asher Bamayim* (אשר במים) in kashrus halacha

To find the kashrus status of an organism, we first need to correctly classify it as plant, animal, bird, or asher bamayim*, as each group has its own distinct requirements. E.g., animals need to chew ...
4
votes
0answers
56 views

What defines a “בהמה” (also “חיה”)?

As discussed in *Dag* (דָג) in kashrus halacha, *Tzomeach* (צוֹמֵחַ) in kashrus halacha, and *Of* (עוֹף) in kashrus halacha, there are different rules used to determine the kashrus status of ...
7
votes
1answer
108 views

*Of* (עוֹף) in kashrus halacha

To find the kashrus status of an organism, we first need to correctly classify it as plant, animal, of, or fish, as each group has its own distinct requirements. E.g., animals need to chew cud and ...
13
votes
3answers
3k views

Is it acceptable under kashrut to eat tyrannosauridae meat?

Theoretically speaking, if tyrannosaurs were still present these days, or in some way or another brought back, would they be kosher? Let's assume that they are properly slaughtered and prepared.
5
votes
2answers
88 views

Are mouse-deer kosher?

Mouse-deer do chew cud (they has four stomachs), but have not two, but four hoofed toes. Are they kosher?
16
votes
4answers
334 views

Kashrus status of turkeys

From what I have heard there were those that did not eat turkey (such as Rabbi Yaakov Kamenetzky Zatzal) due to a question whether we have a Mesorah as to the Kashrus of this bird. I know that many ...
6
votes
1answer
246 views

Buying non-Kosher food for home Emergency Kits

The United States federal government, American Red Cross, and surely countless other governments and NGOs recommend that families have Emergency Survival Kits in their homes in case of a natural or ...
4
votes
0answers
26 views

*Tzomeach* (צוֹמֵחַ) in kashrus halacha

To find the kashrus status of an organism, we first need to correctly classify it as tzomeach, animal, bird, or fish, as each group has its own distinct requirements. E.g., animals need to chew cud ...
7
votes
1answer
234 views

How to identify Yashan

I would like to serve food to a friend who observes the restrictions against eating Chadash grain products, but I don't have access to a guide on identifying Yashan. However, I have heard, that ...
6
votes
3answers
575 views

To what grains do the laws of yoshon apply?

For which species must we wait until after pesach to eat the previous crop? Are there different cut-off dates for different species?
5
votes
1answer
48 views

How do you look into a Pesach program?

I often hear that Passover programs are fraught with potential issues, primarily in the area of kashrus, but also with the reliability of the Rabbanim there and other issues. How can one go about ...
11
votes
2answers
496 views

Zimun and Bentsching (Bircat Hamazon / Grace After Meals) with Jews who ate non-kosher food

I came across an interesting situation recently. I was eating with Jewish, non-observant friends. I brought over a hamburger from a local kosher take-out place. They had homemade, non-kosher food, ...
4
votes
1answer
274 views

Does loose leaf tea need a hechsher?

Sometimes I find bags of dried tea leaves of various sorts in my local Turkish store. Do such teas need a hechsher (certification as kosher)? Is there any indicator I can use to tell if it's kosher or ...
19
votes
5answers
1k views

What is it about pigs that's so despised vs. other non-kosher animals?

We all hear about pigs being so much more reviled than other forms of non-kosher. This is true in general culture; I believe such a minhag was recorded with regards to using soap rendered from ...
34
votes
3answers
1k views

Are sea sponges kosher?

The sea sponge is scientifically classified as an animal, therefore maybe it would be considered unkosher, as seafood. On the other hand, it seems much more similar to a vegetable of some kind, so ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

In what case can a wine made from the “Fruit of the Vine” be kosher but not acceptable for kiddush? [duplicate]

I saw a post the other day where a religious Jew posted a picture of a new wine he got and clarified that it was made from the "fruit of the vine" and yet it wasn't good for kiddush. What kind of ...