Questions about kosher certification of commercial food products.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
4answers
2k views

KORC - Kosher Symbol

I was in Costco today and saw chopped romaine lettuce with the KORC symbol. I was wondering if anyone knows if this symbol is accepted by the OU or other large Kashrus organizations.
3
votes
3answers
234 views

Is a bottle or jug of 100% pure maple syrup kosher without certification?

There are several farmers' markets scattered around the New York City area. Many of them carry bottles or jugs of 100% NY State or Vermont maple syrup. Occasionally I find Canadian maple syrup. (For ...
6
votes
2answers
481 views

Fresh fish need hechsher

Does fresh fish from a supermarket or fish market require a hechsher? I would be tempted to believe that a fish known to be of a kosher variety would not need certification since there is no shechita ...
19
votes
5answers
12k views

Is there a problem with Triangle K? If so, what?

I want to know what the OU's or any other Orthodox kashrut agency's problem is with Triangle K. I have read about the Ralbag family which founded and runs the Triangle K and they are clearly Orthodox. ...
4
votes
1answer
85 views

Do Whole Vanilla Beans Need A Hekhsher?

Vanilla beans and their derivatives are commonly used in many dishes as a spice. The whole beans are available for purchase in stores and online. I understand that plain fruits and vegetables (when ...
1
vote
2answers
76 views
5
votes
0answers
108 views

Shochtim who learned from translated materials

The Maharil in his Tshusvos Chadashos ("New Responsa," mentioned here), writes (Siman 93) that the custom is not to give kabblah to shochtim who learned the laws shechita in German (translated ...
2
votes
2answers
131 views

Waiting to reveal Kosher issue in order to get to the root of the problem

Suppose a Mashgiach realizes that a store is selling Treif meat, however is unsure as to the source of the problem. If he announces immediately that this store is selling something not Kosher he may ...
12
votes
1answer
792 views

Kosher Cheese without a posted hechsher

I live in a remote area of Canada and don't have access to a kosher market to buy cheese. There are many European imports in the local super, and I was wondering if there is a list of cheeses which ...
0
votes
2answers
46 views

Changing a hashgacha stamp after the rav's death

I've noticed recently that wines which we get under the hashgacha of the Bada"tz Beit Yosef list "R' Ovadia Yosef Shlit"a." As R' Ovadia died more than a year ago and these are young wines, I suspect ...
8
votes
1answer
347 views

Does Vegan Certification Have Any Halachic Weight?

There are a number of organizations that offer Vegan Certification for food products; the concept is the same as kosher certification, (though that is the only similarity). Examples would be Vegan.org ...
5
votes
2answers
302 views

Providing services to a forbidden ceremony

If a secular society criminalizes discriminating against a ceremony (e.g., a wedding between arayot [forbidden sexual unions, e.g., incest, bestiality, or homosexuality] or an idolatrous ritual), is a ...
7
votes
3answers
577 views

Does electronic cigarette juice require a hechsher?

Does electronic cigarette "juice" need to be kosher (require a hechsher)? Does it matter what flavor the juice is?
4
votes
1answer
148 views

Eating in a restaurant that is not under the beth din

Can one eat in a resturaunt that claims to be kosher, yet does not have a certified kashrut certificate from the local beth din? Is this a violation of a prohibition by the owner? Does the owner have ...
3
votes
3answers
492 views

Starburst Fruit Chews kosher?

Are Starburst Fruit Chews kosher? This website below clearly has an OU on the right side. However, Gelatin appears on the ingredient list, and the oukosher.org website doesn't have any reference to ...
5
votes
4answers
560 views

Is Soylent kosher certified?

The Soylent company claims its vegan product (the powder – not the oil blend) is kosher certified, and the powder's manufacturer does mention Star-K, but does the powder actually have a hechsher – ...
2
votes
1answer
62 views

Cranberries on Passover

Are fresh cranberries, bagged with OU (year-round) certification, kosher for Passover?
1
vote
0answers
66 views

Is arak kosher for pesach without a specific P hechsher?

I have a bottle of The Spirit of Jaffa Arak (ערק הניחוחות של יפו) with a regular circle-K hechsher as well as hashgachat-badatz-yerushalayim. Is there any reason this shouldn't be kosher for passover ...
1
vote
2answers
980 views

What foods do not need a Pesach hechsher?

Which foods are kosher for Pesach with only a "year-round" hechsher, or with no hechsher at all?
2
votes
0answers
243 views

Does 100% pure avocado oil need special kosher l'Pesach certification?

Costco carries a brand of avocado oil that I think is produced by Whole Foods. I know that OU, and I think other kashrut agencies have stated that 100% pure olive oil needs no special Pesach ...
1
vote
0answers
44 views

Why would aluminum tins need a Kosher L'Pesach hechsher?

A few days ago, my son noticed that a small aluminum tin that we used had a stamp from the Badat"z that said Kosher L'Pesach. I know that people put food in aluminum tins. But I don't know of anyone ...
1
vote
2answers
109 views

Can one rely on halal combined with vegetarian labels?

i understand that halal can not be trusted for meat, but what about items that are certified halal and certified vegetarian? There are many vegetarian curry pastes and other spice pastes that can be ...
2
votes
0answers
36 views

Contemporary approaches to kashrut of dates

What are contemporary approaches regarding dealing with bug infestation of dates? Do Kashrut agencies (e.g. the Orthodox Union) regularly inspect crops to determine infestation levels? And if so, what ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Is triangle k a reliable hechsher? [duplicate]

I heard that they're upping up their level of kashrut recently. I also heard that there are many different types of triangle k signs.
3
votes
0answers
47 views

Frozen raspberries without supervision

My wife was told by a friend that a certain legitimate kashrus organization says that frozen raspberries do not require supervision, and upon calling the organization, she was told that the process ...
3
votes
1answer
132 views

Possibility of buying treyf meat in a kosher store

Since meat may be sold to a consumer before kashering and traiboring, it is possible that parts of meat obtained from a kosher store may not be kosher.* Ordinarily, one could guess whether the meat ...
5
votes
1answer
113 views

What's with this “approved for Pesach” tape?

That's masking tape from the hardware store, with an "approved for Pesach" label by the Badatz. What??
2
votes
2answers
96 views

Does soy milk need a hechshir

Does soy milk need a hechshir since they put in artificial things that can be trayf or its all natural and it won't need a hechshir
7
votes
1answer
420 views

Creating a crowd-sourced database of non-dairy OU-D products

Several questions/answers on this site have pointed out that the OU-D hechsher does not always mean that the product is actually dairy. (But that it is, in reality, "OU-DE" [dairy equipment]. See here ...
9
votes
2answers
368 views

Whatever happened to plumbas?

Not so many years ago, a plumba (apparently created by Rabbi Jacob Joseph) -- a metal tag attached to the wing of a kosher chicken indicating that it was, indeed, kosher -- on a kosher chicken was the ...
6
votes
1answer
455 views

Does flavored dental floss need a hechsher?

You can find flavored dental floss these days usually in the flavor of mint. Is there anything to worry about or is it no worse than mint mouthwash? If not, doesn't the gemarah in berachot 6th perek ...
4
votes
1answer
410 views

Does loose leaf tea need a hechsher?

Sometimes I find bags of dried tea leaves of various sorts in my local Turkish store. Do such teas need a hechsher (certification as kosher)? Is there any indicator I can use to tell if it's kosher or ...
1
vote
1answer
68 views

Who hechshers P'til Tekhelet?

P'til Tekhelet is an organisation which makes M. trunculus techeilet. Who hechshers their tzitziot?
6
votes
2answers
434 views

What's the Bishul Akum heter for hard-boiled eggs?

I've seen prepackaged hard-boiled eggs in the grocery store with an OU. As eggs are relatively inedible raw, what is the heter vis-a-vis bishul akum for them? (Or are they having a Jewish mashgiach ...
4
votes
1answer
76 views

Assuming something has remained Kosher

When someone buys a product with Kosher certification, do they have to check to make sure that it is still certified Kosher or can they rely on the fact that the last time (or first time) they bought ...
1
vote
0answers
31 views

Can certified vegan be assumed to be pareve? [duplicate]

If a food item has a valid kosher certification, which marks it as being dairy, but also has certification from a vegan certification that it is vegan, can it be assumed to be dairy equipment? I ...
4
votes
1answer
157 views

Who is this certification ([KA] in a square)?

Which organization uses this symbol? It was seen on a package of candy (Goody Good Stuff is the brand) in the Netherlands.
1
vote
1answer
52 views

What is the difference between kosher and permitted food?

I wish to allude to this answer, which distinguishes between "kosher" and "permitted" (and "non-kosher" and "forbidden") foods for purposes of knowing when to make a bracha. Can someone explain this ...
1
vote
2answers
133 views

Does flavored drip/ground coffee require a hechsher?

It seems like plain unflavored coffee does not need a kosher certification. Does flavored drip/ground coffee require a hechsher?
5
votes
2answers
74 views

Allergen information says “may contain…”

If a product is labeled dairy, but the allergen information says "may contain traces of milk," can I assume that it is actually only dairy equipment? If it didn't say anything, maybe they just didn't ...
10
votes
4answers
201 views

Must I check the kashrut certificate every time I visit a bakery or restaurant?

Say I visit a bakery, restaurant, jail, hospital, or nursing home. And say I already know that the food there is kosher. Must I still check the kashrut certificate every time I visit? (Gershon ...
4
votes
0answers
90 views

Kosher flavored beer without certification on the bottle?

I've always heard that the rule in the United States is that domestic non-microbrewery/craft unflavored beer needs no certification as kosher, as all such beers are kosher, but that any other beer ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Who certified this yogurt as kosher?

Looking at unclear heshers on some yogurt packages: Dannon "Light and Fit" yogurt has a capital K without any other identifier. Yoplait "Light" has a capital K D. I was told that the letter K alone ...
2
votes
1answer
58 views

Does “Nivdak” flour, grains, beans or pasta exist?

I know Bodek, among other brands sells pre-checked (for bugs, worms, etc.) produce. However, I have not seen any commercially available pre-checked rice, barley (etc. - pretty much any grain that is ...
12
votes
1answer
203 views

Cities' רבנו‏יות's accepting others' food

Years ago, IIRC, I heard the following from a respectable source: By Israeli law, if the רבנות of one city certifies a food as kosher, then the רבנות of any other city must allow that food as an ...
1
vote
1answer
61 views

Is national-brand mozzarella under constant supervision?

Shulchan Aruch and Rama, Yore Dea 115:2, indicate that cheese made by a non-Jew can't be eaten unless a Jew saw it being made. Kraft, a national brand, now has some Ⓤ-certified reduced-fat ...
3
votes
1answer
98 views

Does a mashgi'ach revoke a store's hashgacha when health department finds insects?

The city health department has cited a kosher restaurant as having violations because they found mice and insects crawling on the food in the kitchen. Since mice and insects are non-kosher, I'm ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Ramen and a hechsher?

I just came across this article about improvising around instant ramen. Assuming that the flavour pack is independent of noodles, does one need a hechsher on ramen?
7
votes
4answers
279 views

asking to see a kashrus certificate

A restaurant has a sign on its window, or a notation in an advertisement, indicating that it's under the kashrus certification of Rabbi So-and-so or Agency Such-and-such. The first time someone walks ...
4
votes
5answers
329 views

What other work can a mashgiach do in a kosher restaurant today?

In a kosher restaurant today, must the mashgiach (kosher inspector) spend 100% of his time watching everything, or can he do some other work in the restaurant? How much work? I know this may vary ...