Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Why is chicken considered meat but fish is not? Also, why is an egg considered pareve? And if we can eat chicken eggs, why can't we eat caviar (fish eggs)?

share|improve this question
1  
Michael, Welcome to Judaism.SE, and thanks very much for bringing your questions here! Please consider registering your account, to help the site keep track of your contributions no matter where you log in. –  Isaac Moses Jul 18 '11 at 20:51
1  
Your first question is at least partially addressed in these two previous questions about fish and about chicken. –  Isaac Moses Jul 18 '11 at 20:54
2  
Milk is not meat, even though it comes from a cow. –  Menachem Jul 18 '11 at 21:57
    
Does the behavior of birds raising their young have anything to do with birds considered to be meat And does a warm-blooded animal also contribute to this concept –  user2793 May 15 '13 at 4:37
add comment

3 Answers

To your last point, traditional caviar comes from sturgeon fish, which are not kosher.

Eggs from kosher fish, such as whitefish, are kosher, so you can find kosher-certified "caviar" made of such eggs.

share|improve this answer
1  
Furthermore, if the caviar are red then they are kosher, according to the Beis Yosef (but see also the Aruch HaShulchan YD 83:50 for a machmir view). The OU however follows the lenient view and thus if the caviar are red, no hashgacha is required -- they are ipso facto kosher. –  Curiouser Jul 19 '11 at 7:07
2  
The Noda BeYehuda Tinyana YD 28 thinks that sturgeon are indeed kosher. –  Double AA Dec 14 '11 at 1:20
add comment

Chulin 8 / Yoreh Deah 87:3 - Rabbi Akiva holds that the prohibition of eating chicken with milk is Rabinnic (M'Drabanan) - the reason is to avoid confusion as people consider chicken meat. Fish would not be confused as it does not require slaughtering, however chicken does require slaughtering.

Once eggs are laid they are completely developed; and they are not considered part of the chicken meat. A complete egg is in fact considered an entity by itself and is not considered meat that can be confused with animal meat. Therefore the Rabbinic prohibition would not apply here and it would be permissible to eat the egg with dairy products.

http://judaism.about.com/library/3_askrabbi_o/bl_simmons_eggs.htm

share|improve this answer
add comment

An egg that is in the chicken when slaughtered is meat. It must be soaked and salted like the rest of the chicken. It must be opened and checked for blood spots before being consumed. It may not be eaten raw, even though eggs that are laid normally may be consumed without cooking.

share|improve this answer
2  
It depends on the formation of the egg and if it is broken or not, etc. I learned that sometimes an egg found in the chicken can still be parve. –  Adam Mosheh Jan 29 '12 at 21:39
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.