Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
WOw irt seems like I Have opened a whole new can of worms here – SimchasTorah Apr 11 '11 at 22:11
up vote 6 down vote accepted

I can't see why the tobacco plant itself should be kitniyos. It's nowhere on this list; I'm unaware of any grain, semigrain, legume, or the like that can be made from the tobacco plant; and tobacco's closest edible cousins (botanically speaking) are potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants -- all of which are generally eaten on Pesach.

I have no clue how tobacco is processed, flavored, modified, etc. before it makes its way into tobacco products, though. But I can see no reason why the plant itself should be kitniyos.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.