Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If chametz can be batel before Pesach, why don't we buy (before Pesach) any commercially produced product with year-round (i.e., not Pesach-specific) kosher certification which does not list chametz ingredients?

Is this just another case of "Jews are very particular with kashrus on Pesach, beyond the letter of the law", or is there something more to it? And if the former then is it binding? — although of course CYLOR for practical halacha.

Update:

Here's an example to work with, for the sake of argument. Suppose a chocolate has the following listed ingredients: sugar, chocolate, milk, cocoa butter, cocoa (processed with alkali [i.e., "dutched"]), milk fat, lactose, soy lecithin (as an emulsifier), PGPR, and artificial flavor.

share|improve this question
    
Related: judaism.stackexchange.com/q/38754 –  msh210 May 30 at 7:35
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

A few reasons that come to mind:

  • The taam of chametz may be absorbed in the utensils used to manufacture that product, and likely there will not be shishim to nullify that taam.

  • There may be minuscule amounts of chametz that need not be listed on the label or are included in the generic "natural/artificial flavors", but which are significant due to their potency ("l'taama avida").

  • The average layman is not knowledgeable enough to discern which innocuous-sounding ingredients are actually grain based.

This is a question all year round: Why do kashrus agencies go through the trouble of kashering facilities and analyzing ingredients, when they could just rely on bittul and aino ben yomo in many or most cases? The answer (to my knowledge) is as R' Moshe says, that it would be "mechu'ar hadavar" (unseemly) to put a halachic imprimatur on such products. So the same logic presumably applies with regard to pesach.

share|improve this answer
    
Regarding the first: Not have sixty k'neged the proportion of chametz in the volume of the walls? Perhaps.... Regarding the second and third: True, but kashrus agencies already presumably know what ingredients are in the product, so can attest to whether that's a concern. –  msh210 Mar 28 '11 at 7:42
    
@msh - but your question was why we can't use these products even without special Pesach certification! If the kashrus agencies attest to the ingredients as you suggest, then they are effectively certifying it for Pesach in that respect. –  Dave Mar 28 '11 at 13:21
    
Well, yes and no. If the equipment was not made kosher for Pesach and there may be trace amounts of chametz, no agency will certify the product for Pesach, and, indeed (AFAIK; CYLOR), one couldn't buy the product on Pesach if it was made on Pesach. But the agency would tell you that the only concern is trace amounts, and you could then (again CYLOR) buy the product before Pesach. No? –  msh210 Mar 28 '11 at 15:59
1  
This is a question all year round: Why do kashrus agencies go thru the trouble of kashering facilities and analyzing ingredients, when they could just rely on bittul and aino ben yomo in many or most cases? The answer (to my knowledge) is as R' Moshe says, that it would be "mechu'ar hadavar" (unseemly) to put a halachic imprimatur on such products. So the same logic presumably applies with regard to pesach. –  Dave Mar 28 '11 at 16:20
    
But ein hachi nami - if you were stuck in the middle of nowhere and needed some emergency food for pesach, it's quite possible that a kashrus professional could guide you towards products that may be eaten at least b'diavad. –  Dave Mar 28 '11 at 16:21
show 5 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.