Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There are several non-Jewish owned fruit trucks near work. Occasionally, the non-Jew squeezes grapes to make fresh grape juice. I understand that the grape juice prepared by a non-Jew is non kosher.

However, after he squeezed the grapes for another customer, can I get other fruit juice from him? Does his squeezing the grapes make the juicer non-kosher? If so, can I get juice if the owner rinses the juicer?

Disclaimer - I asked my rav about the general use of getting juice from a street vendor who does not use grapes. He said that providing that the only thing made is from fresh produce and the knife and cutting board is used only for that purpose, there is no problem.

share|improve this question
    
I wouldn't be so sure that grape juice isn't kosher. There is no obvious Hamshacha. At worst it seems this case is like 123:20 and the juicer should be fine. –  Double AA Jul 24 at 17:26
    
@DoubleAA - "this case is like 123:20". By the numbers, I assumed you meant Mishnah Brurah, but it's not there. Please elucidate. –  DanF Jul 24 at 18:18
    
@DanF By the topic you should have thought I meant Hilchot Yayin Nesach in Shulchan Arukh. (That would be in Yoreh Deah with other Kashrut concerns.) –  Double AA Jul 24 at 18:20
    
@CharlesKoppelman There's nothing wrong with that. No reason not to learn more. –  Double AA Jul 24 at 18:20

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.