Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How is it possible that someone lit the Menora on the first night of Chanuka, said Shehechiyanu, yet when he lights the Menora on the second night he would have to say Shehechiyanu again?

share|improve this question

closed as not constructive by Isaac Moses Jun 17 '11 at 21:52

As it currently stands, this question is not a good fit for our Q&A format. We expect answers to be supported by facts, references, or expertise, but this question will likely solicit debate, arguments, polling, or extended discussion. If you feel that this question can be improved and possibly reopened, visit the help center for guidance.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

    
This looks like a riddle... Do you have an answer in mind? How do you know that this is possible? –  Matt Dec 18 at 22:44

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Maybe he is being motzei somebody else? Or maybe it is a new, expensive menorah? (I'll just ignore the possibility of international dateline/space travel issues for now)

share|improve this answer
1  
I do not know about being Motzi someone else, however the Nitei gavriel brings that the Maharshal would wear a new Beged and say a Shehechiyanu on night 2 as the first night was for the Nitzachon in the war, and the rest of the nights was for the Neis of the Shemen. He mentions if you have a new expensive Menora you can also make a Shehechiyanu. –  Gershon Gold Dec 2 '10 at 19:40
1  
@GershonGold If you wear a new Beged on the fourth night you would also say shehechiyanu. And if you ate 7 new fruits on the first day you could say 7 shehechiyanus. Why is this interesting? –  Double AA Mar 11 at 18:11

A child who became Bar Mitzvah between lighting on the first night and lighting on the second ?

share|improve this answer
    
If he lit the first night he would not say Shehechiyanu on the second night. –  Gershon Gold Dec 3 '10 at 14:42
    
R'GG, doubtless you're correct, but do you have a source? –  msh210 Dec 3 '10 at 18:56
    
@msh210 Why doubtless? –  Double AA Oct 17 '12 at 17:42

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.