Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a relative who has a list of food ilnesses including egg, nut, wheat, soy and gluten allergies. As far as I know, he cannot eat anything that has the bracha "hamotzi". How can he fulfill the mitzvah of eating challah during the Shabbat meal? (FYI - He does say the full "Birkat Hamazon", relying on the fact that he is "satisfied".)

share|improve this question
If he can't eat it then he can't do the Mitzva. Oh well. –  Double AA May 13 '14 at 14:14
@DoubleAA - Is eating Challah on Shabbat a requirement? If not, it wouldn't matter. If yes, I'm looking for alternatives, if there are any. –  DanF May 13 '14 at 14:18
got it judaism.stackexchange.com/q/28502/759 –  Double AA May 13 '14 at 14:46
@DanF, you're the one who first said it is a Mitzvah. –  Seth J May 13 '14 at 20:48
Mitzvot have many classifications, as you know. E.g. on Shabbat, MUST make Kiddush, but one is not forced to sing zemirot, though it is a mitzvah to eat both meat and fish, though one is not forced to do so. –  DanF May 14 '14 at 13:58

3 Answers 3

up vote 4 down vote accepted

He can use oat bread which is gluten-free and is biologically unrelated to wheat or barley.

Not all poskim consider oats to be hamotzi (that's its own question) so you should mention to your relative to ask his rabbi. As DoubleAA pointed out, he would probably prefer to use oat matza instead of attempting to eat oat-bread.

share|improve this answer
@Yitzchak: My understanding (that the 5 hametz grains qualify for hamotzi) agrees with yours. This being StEx, I am curious for cites as to what grains meet the criteria for hamotzi. –  Codes with Hammer May 13 '14 at 17:46
@Yitchak - I'll chime in on Codes comment. Implied in my question is knowing what grains qualify for hamotzi? I think someone published an article based on comparing the "original" Gemarrah definition vs. what we know about these today. Much of what we now grow is a "variant" or modification of what was then. –  DanF May 13 '14 at 19:14
@DanF I think that should be a separate question –  Double AA May 13 '14 at 20:00

There is no obligation to eat any food on Shabbat which harms you or is painful, even if that means fasting completely (OC 288:2). I obviously don't know your friend's medical details, but if there is nothing he is allowed to eat then he is simply exempt.

share|improve this answer

You can drink enough wine or grape juice to constitute a seudah. I do this regularly at a kiddush if there is nothing there without sugar in it (pretty common, actually).

Here is a decent article specifically about your question, which also supports my answer.


share|improve this answer
I think you are mixing up two different notions of "seudah". –  Double AA Jul 31 '14 at 20:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.