Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Some sacrifices have varying requirements based on what you can afford. For example, Vayikra 5:6, 5:7 and 5:11 have three different levels of sacrifices to bring for a guilt-offering depending on what you can afford.

How was it determined what one could afford? If someone couldn't afford a sheep because they were behind on their Mercedes donkey-payment, would that qualify? Or would it have to be something more along the lines of if he would have to skip a meal? Is there an objective standard?

share|improve this question

Probably the same standards used in Arachim (see 3rd Perek) and codified by the Rambam in הלכות ערכים וחרמים פרק ג

In a nutshell, we pay up his debts (as they have an earlier lien) and then we provide him with food for 30 days. He gets basic living conditions (roof, bed, Tefilin and weekday clothes) and a basic set of tools for his trade. We then sell his other belongings.

That's his "net worth" at the moment.

share|improve this answer
What are the three levels then? – Double AA Apr 23 '14 at 3:18
@DoubleAA: Based on his "net worth" we have: 1 - can he afford a lamb. 2 - can he afford 2 birds. 3 - he can only afford flour. – Danny Schoemann Apr 23 '14 at 7:24

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.