Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is white distilled Vinegar Ok to own on Pesach?

Many products list vinegar as an ingredient such as Ketchup, mayonnaise, salad dressings etc.. Are they ok to own on pesach?

http://www.crcweb.org/Passover/What%20is%20Chametz%20(DC).pdf

The question seems to be if we can rely on the fact most distilled vinegar is made from an alcohol fermented from corn and not wheat.

Another question is white distilled vinegar fit for dog eating? Its never consumed by itself.

share|improve this question
    
Heinz only uses corn. I asked them. –  Double AA Apr 13 at 4:23
    
Yeah. Thats what they say on their website heinzvinegar.com/vinegar-101.aspx –  Michael Horwitz Apr 13 at 4:54
    
The OU Passover Guide has the same article (in an easier to search and read format) which explicitly says that one may rely on Rov to consider it kitniyos. It also seems to say that even though white distilled vinegar is never used on its own, the fact that it is an ingredient in ketchup (for example) in the way that it is means that it is not considered aino ra'ui la'acholas kelev. –  sabbahillel Apr 13 at 14:09
    
Thanks. I read that article and I wasn't sure what to make of it. If we can rely on the fact that its Kitniyot why do they recommend selling it? –  Michael Horwitz Apr 13 at 14:56
    
star-k does not deal with Rov but explicitly says that one must check if the original source is chametz or kitniyos (as the heinz vinegar web site says). However, all the articles imply that the question of 'not fit for a dog' does not arise as the vinegar is definitely chametz or kitniyos. –  sabbahillel Apr 13 at 14:56

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.