Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

On boxes of Manischewitz Egg Matzos, you will find markings that say "Kosher for Passover" and also "According to Ashkenazic practice, all egg matzo may be eaten only by the young, infirm, or aged. If you are of Sephardic ancestry, consult your rabbi."

I assume since these say "Kosher for Passover" that the water and time restrictions were observed. I do not think they are chametz or kitniyot so what is it that makes them unacceptable? To be clear, I am not looking for an excuse to use them for the seder, I just want to understand the reasoning behind the restriction.

In case it is useful, the ingredients list says: Passover wheat flour, whole eggs, and apple cider.

share|improve this question
Rambam explicitly allows it except on the first day of the holiday, due to the requirement to eat lechem oni, poor man's bread, at the seder. – Robert S. Barnes Apr 6 '15 at 7:18
up vote 10 down vote accepted

Matzah made with other liquids besides (instead of) water are called "matzah ashira" enriched matzahs. While some object to them because they undercut the "lechem oni" bread of affliction that water/flour matzot represent, there are other concerns regarding whether they create an environment for fermentation.

Here is one treatment of the argument with the sides laid out and sources provided.

share|improve this answer
Does that prohibit the egg matzohs only for the seder, or for all of Passover? Is it prohibited to have egg matzohs in one's house during Passover? – Tatpurusha Apr 7 '14 at 18:53
the authorities which forbid it, forbid its consumption all during the holiday. Some allow it but not at he seder. You must consult your local halachic authority for anything more specific. – Danno Apr 7 '14 at 19:00
We consider they are not chametz with regards to owning them on Pesach, and if we do own them we can eat them after Pesach (unlike Chametz which remains forever forbidden) and that is also why we are lenient and allow them not to those who find it hard to eat regular matzo. We just avoid eating them due to the extra severity – CashCow 2 days ago

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.