Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Chocolate is made from a cocoa bean. What keeps that bean from being considered kitniyos?

share|improve this question
    
I don't think that would be confused for flour –  sam Apr 3 at 0:38
    
If anything, cocoa beans are considered fruit. So you could ask, why don't we recite ha'eitz before eating chocolate? –  Fred Apr 3 at 1:25
    
Because no one stopped eating chocolate way back when. Hence, there is no such custom today. –  Double AA Apr 3 at 3:08
    
Don't ask that, next some rabbanim WILL ban it, chas v'chalilah. –  Noach mi Frankfurt Apr 3 at 18:26
add comment

2 Answers 2

There were briefly those who'd heard of this thing called coffee -- it's a "bean", you grind it -- who wondered if it were kitniyot.

This was quickly rejected, I don't recall who it was who'd said "if you ever saw a coffee plant, you'd understand why it's not kitniyos."

Very simply -- all kitniyos, like the 5 grains, are annuals. Coffee and chocolate are perennials.

share|improve this answer
    
Are we sure that this is the rational? +1 for the maase though. –  Noach mi Frankfurt Apr 3 at 20:25
add comment

Just because the English word is 'bean' does not mean that it is kitniyos. A good explanation can be found at What is Kitniyot?

Here is the initial summary of that article. You can read the details there.

Authored by the Orthodox Union. Copyright © 2008 Orthodox Union

In addition to the Torah’s restrictions on owning, eating and benefiting from chametz, an Ashkenazic minhag developed in the middle ages to not eat certain foods known collectively as “kitnios”. The Mishnah Berurah (453:6 & 464:5) cites three reasons for the minhag (a) kitnios is harvested and processed in the same manner as chametz, (b) it is ground into flour and baked just like chametz [so people may mistakenly believe that if they can eat kitnios, they can also eat chametz], (c) it may have chametz grains mixed into it [so people who eat kitnios may inadvertently be eating chametz]. Although initially there were those who objected to the minhag, it has become an accepted part of Pesach in all Ashkenazic communities.

share|improve this answer
    
Just like peanuts! –  Double AA Apr 3 at 2:57
    
@DoubleAA Read the article and see why potatoes and quinoa are not considered kitniyos. The summary is just that. THe article goes into more detail. Also look at the 2014 OU Passover guide which explains why quinoa now has a kosher for Pesach determination. –  sabbahillel Apr 3 at 3:03
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.