Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I distilled some vodka (from sugar wine) on Shabbat, and now I'm not sure if my kosher friends can consume it.

Some important points:

  • It was edible before I distilled it (It was already wine)

  • We will have waited more than 25 hours to consume it after it was prepared

  • Everything else was otherwise kosher

Is this vodka kosher?

share|improve this question

closed as off-topic by Isaac Moses, Gemini Man, not-allowed to change my name, Shmuel Brin, Bruce James Mar 25 at 13:29

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions asking for a practical ruling (p'sak halacha) are off-topic. For practical advice consult your rabbi. Try to broaden the question so it applies to a wider audience, such as by asking what sources are applicable to the question. (More information.)" – Isaac Moses, Community, not-allowed to change my name, Shmuel Brin, Bruce James
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

    
when you say it started with "sugar wine" what does that mean? A grape product? Did you distill it FOR your friends? At their request? Do they know? –  Danno Mar 18 at 10:36
    
No grapes at all, sugar wine is also known as thin wort homedistiller.org/sugar/wash-sugar. I distilled it not specifically for them but to be enjoyed in general and not at their request. They are hosting a shabbat dinner this friday and I'd like to bring it. –  Dan Green Mar 18 at 12:49
    
This strikes me as a question for a rav. –  Bruce James Mar 25 at 1:10
    
Actually, it's more likely a dupe of this question than off-topic. –  Seth J Mar 25 at 14:56

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Since you state that you do not keep Shabbos, and you state that you want to give it to your 'kosher friends', implying that you do not necessarily keep kosher, there is another problem. Even if you had made this during the week, it would be the same as if you had cooked food in your kitchen, using your own utensils. Even if the food was bought from a kosher grocery, they would not be able to use it. Since you could have used the equipment for wine distillation (whether you have or not), the equipment itself cannot be assumed to be kosher.

I would suggest that if you want to make some for them, you do so with new equipment, in their house, under their supervision. (and not on Shabbos).

share|improve this answer
1  
The crc website includes this statement in their pdf "Unflavored vodka is acceptable unless the label states that it is produced from grapes, wine, milk, lactose, or whey." and many unflavored vodkas are marked as "recommended [even with no supervision symbol]" Some of the brands whose vodkas are recommended produce other flavors which require certification or are unacceptable. Since this doesn't then automatically demand that the machinery be checked, why wouldn't we hold the individual to a similar standard? –  Danno Mar 18 at 13:40
    
@Danno because the individual uses nonkosher utensils in the same place. If the vodka factory used the nonkosher flavors in the same areas so that it could be mixed into the machinery, then it would require supervision. –  sabbahillel Mar 18 at 15:42
    
Three Olives unflavored is on the crc list even without a hechsher, but Three Olives makes a grape flavor which is not on the list. As far as I can tell, they have a single distillery. –  Danno Mar 18 at 16:04
1  
@Danno, all I am saying is you can't take a statement from the CRC (or anyone else) made in an industrial context and apply it to a home-brew concept. The predictability of the industrial production process creates certain leniencies which wouldn't otherwise apply. In this specific case, it has to do with the way in which that ingredient is used in an industrial context. In a home situation, any ingredient of any type can be introduce at any time. The same conclusions cannot be applied. There may be cases where a home ingredient is fine, but that is a case-by-case thing. –  Yishai Mar 18 at 18:19
1  
The industrial application did not have to tovel because the equipment was not owned by a Jew. Since this is individually owned (by a Jew) utensils to make food it should be toveled. –  sabbahillel Mar 19 at 1:34

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.