Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Before I begin my question I need to explain specifically what and how rennet is made. Rennet are enzymes scraped from the stomach of an animal, and is used to help give cheese it's texture. So my first assumption was "it's assur because of basar vchalav and non kosher if it's not from a kosher animal." However when I looked at the specifics my mind was thinking otherwise. I found that it can't be basar vchalav or non kosher because it's not an ochel by itself. And it's only used as an additive for texture and not flavoring. That being said, is there a problem eating non kosher-certified cheese other than gevinas akum? If not, what prevents us from using animal rennet in kosher cheese?

share|improve this question
Where did you find that it can't be non kosher? – Double AA Mar 12 '14 at 13:10
It is customary to use calf's rennet, or in some cases, sheep and goat, as those are the animals which provide milk for the cheese; this info comes from my non-shomer kashrut relatives. – Noach MiFrankfurt Mar 12 '14 at 13:15
Your title seems different than your question. In the title you are questioning rennet, and in the question you are questioning cheese. – Gershon Gold Mar 12 '14 at 14:12

The prohibition of eating "Non Kosher cheese" is called "Gevinas Akum". This has nothing to do with Kashrus. Even if all the ingredients are Kosher 100%, one may not eat cheese made by a non Jew due to Gevinas Akum.

See Rabbi Jachter for a complete explanation.

share|improve this answer
I figured the only problem was gevinas akum. However that wasn't my question, my question was assuming the cheese is NOT gevinas akum. – David Feigen Mar 14 '14 at 11:45
@DavidFeigen Where did you assume that in the question? – Double AA Mar 19 '14 at 18:22
"That being said is there a problem eating non kosher certified cheese other than gevinas akum" so yes, I did state it in my question – David Feigen Mar 21 '15 at 20:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.