Is it assur to make a bracha on foods whose ingredients are kosher but cooked in non-kosher utensils? What is the source?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
The Shulchan Aruch writes (196:1):
The key thing to note is that it is not necessarily a food's "kosher" status that governs whether a bracha is said. Rather, the key is whether it is permitted or forbidden to be consumed.
So in the case of food cooked in non-kosher utensils: it would appear (according to my understanding) that if the circumstances are such that it's forbidden to be eaten, one cannot make a bracha on it.
I should note that I have seen in the Aruch Hashulchan that there are certain exceptions to this rule when it comes to "lighter" Rabbinical prohibitions. An example he gives is בישול עכו״ם. I am not quite sure if this would have any bearing on the utensil case...
If the utensils were not used within 24 hours, then bedieved even miderabonon the food is כשר. (Remember this is only bedieved where if it was an accident or a bshat hatchak). Therefore since it's כשר you can make a berachah.