Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have heard (and don't remember where) that the seforim of the Ramchal, Mesilas Yesharim, Derech Hashem, and Klash Pischei Chochma are meant to be as steps in a ladder (no pun intended) of learning. I am not sure what order the seforim are in though?

Are there any sources out there to corroborate this claim?

share|improve this question
I'm missing the pun that wasn't intended. – Y ez Jan 28 '14 at 19:27
mesilas yesharim, steps in a ladder, not one of my best :) – Efraim Jan 29 '14 at 0:30
Ahhh. Let me give a delayed "wa wa wa" then. – Y ez Jan 29 '14 at 4:00

Mesilas Yesharim is written as steps in a ladder. Meaning, you have to work on every attribute before going on to the next and when you do, you reach a new level.

In regard to the order of learning his other seforim I say as follows. In the introduction to Mesillas Yesharim, the Ramchal talks a lot about Olam Haba as mans goal. In Derech Hashem, he goes(among many other things) into much greater depth about Olam Haba and all its details. Therefore, learning Derech Hashem before Mesilas Yesharim can be very hard, since you don't have the foundation (Mesillas Yesharim) of which to build upon. Therefore, it seems to be recommend that one learn Mesillas Yesharim before Derech Hashem.

Also see here that Derech Hashem presents only conclusions to concepts elaborated on in his other works.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.