Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Talmud in Gittin 88a says that Israel was only destroyed once it had seven courts that worshipped idols: Jeroboam son of Nebat's... Pekah son of Remalia's, Menahem son of Gadi's, and Hosea son of Elah's.

The list follows chronological order, except that in Kings II 15:25, it is evident that Pekah reigned after Menahem, as he killed Menahem's successor Pekahiah, who came to power after his father died at the end of his 10 year reign, and ruled for two years.

Mhrs"a edits the Talmud's text, switching the order.

Does anyone defend the Talmud's text that we have in front of us? What reasons do they give for listing the kings in this way?

Another switch happens in Midrash Aggadat Breishit in ch.48, when wicked kings of Judah are listed: Jehoram, Ahaz, Jehoash, Menashe... Jehoash is Ahaz's great grandfather!

share|improve this question
Have you checked any manuscripts about the proper girsa? – Double AA Jan 24 '14 at 14:59
@DoubleAA good idea, where can I do that? – Baby Seal Jan 24 '14 at 18:48

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.