Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Shulchan Aruch 199:10 writes that a child can be included for a zimun of three or 10(only one minor is counted),the Rama does not allow a minor to join.

1) If there is one adult Sephardi and one adult Ashkenazi and a Sephardi minor who ate together can the Ashkenazi count the minor?

2)If there are 8 Sephardim and one Ashkenazi and one sephardi minor,does majority rule against the Ashkenazi(diff from case one where its is one against one).

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

1) In this first scenario, since Ashkenazim cannot include a child for a zimun, then clearly even in this case he cannot use a child. But DinOnLine.org here brings a different scenario, and says:

If an Ashkenazi child eats with two Sephardi men, the child can join the zimun and answer together with the men (Vezos Ha-Berachah p. 127).

2)With regard to the second scenario the same website writes:

If three Ashkenazi men join with six Sephardi men to form a zimun and a child is added to complete the minyan, the Sephardim should recite the zimun with the Name of Hashem, but the Ashkenazim should refrain from answering with the Name (Vezos Ha-Berachah p. 127).

Hence, as long as you have the majority of ten, i.e. six or more, who are Sephardi they can include a child in order to recite the zimun with Hashem's name.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.