Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

There are a number of organizations that offer Vegan Certification for food products; the concept is the same as kosher certification, (though that is the only similarity). Examples would be Vegan.org or vegansociety.org

Do these certifications, in general, or any of them in particular, have any Halachic weight? Can they be trusted to certify, for example, that a processed product is neither dairy nor meaty, or that its ingredients contain no non-kosher animal products, or that a vegetable product contains no insects?

share|improve this question
What makes you think these certifications have halakhic significance (that presumably ingredient labels don't have?) – Charles Koppelman Aug 7 '13 at 0:54
@CharlesKoppelman I don't. – HodofHod Aug 7 '13 at 0:58
So..... nu? Why ask? – Charles Koppelman Aug 7 '13 at 1:00
@CharlesKoppelman Conversation in chat: chat.stackexchange.com/transcript/message/10667585#10667585 – HodofHod Aug 7 '13 at 1:38
Related: judaism.stackexchange.com/questions/30376/… – Daniel Aug 7 '13 at 18:47

Here's a list of potential issues (one specifically mentioning the Vegan Society and its standards) with vegan-certified food:

  1. The vegan standards for "animal-free" may be less stringent than the halakhic standards. I've heard this is particularly true with respect to bug checking for vegetables.
  2. Keilim. In particular, even if the restaurant's own keilim are fine, they are not necessarily committed to buying hechshered products (e.g., canned beans). So there could very well be an issue higher up in the supply chain.
  3. Wine and grape juice
  4. Bishul akum

Here's an old thread on mail.jewish about whether it's allowed to eat in a Jain restaurant, since Jains are extremely "machmir" about animal products.

share|improve this answer
Regarding keilim, bishul akum and yayin Stam, it's not a problem in cold salad – David Feigen Mar 27 '14 at 18:25
@DavidFeigen Maris Ayin could also be a problem. – sabbahillel Feb 19 at 15:33

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.