Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

~150 years ago in Eastern Europe, the Kitzur Shulchan Aruch wrote that you could usually go buy a coffee, tea, or hot chocolate without having to worry about its kosher ingredients (or bishul akum). While this is mostly our practice today with regards to unflavored coffee or tea, I assume the hot chocolate available then was purely vegan; and today everyone would demand a hechsher on their hot chocolate given the possibility of animal-based flavorings, marshmallows (=gelatin), and the like.

Is there anywhere in the world (barring the use of a time machine) where you can still get a plain hot chocolate without a hechsher?

share|improve this question
You can get a hot chocolate without a hechsher anywhere, it just might not be Kosher! – Yahu Sep 21 '10 at 9:44
"Lo suchal lizboach es hapesach", and Onkelos translates "leis lach reshu" ... – Shalom Sep 21 '10 at 13:50
You are welcome to come to my house! – Double AA Dec 14 '11 at 1:07
up vote 6 down vote accepted


share|improve this answer
Wow, talk about too easy ... – Shalom Sep 20 '10 at 15:25
Of course, the Starbucks actually has a hechsher on their mix. I'd still be curious if there's anyplace vegan enough you could rely on an "unhechshered" chocolate; but YDK's answer gives me only 11,000 locations in the USA ... nebuch ... – Shalom Sep 20 '10 at 15:27

Places in India where Jainism is wide spread will provide you with animal free hot-choclates.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.