Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Included in my siddur as part of the sefirat haomer are the corresponding middat hayom for each day/week. They begin with chessed sh'b'chessed and progress through a series of middot - gevurah, tiferes, netzach, hod, yesod, malchut. From what I understand the order of the middot actually progresses in the opposite direction with Chessed being of a "higher" order and Malchut being the lowest rung. Assuming this is correct (and I do not have a source to prove that it is) why would we begin with the middah of chessed and progress "downward" instead of starting at malchut and proceed higher?

share|improve this question

Omer is the time when we so-to-speak recreate ourselves in accordance with the Divine Will, so the creative process is a good represenation of what is spiritually happening during the time between Pesach and Shavuos.

The middos represent, in one sense, the stages of realization of that creative process. It starts with the highest forms (here, chessed) and proceeds to implementation until the lowest form of the implementation is complete (here, malchus).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.