Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Which foods are kosher for Pesach with only a "year-round" hechsher, or with no hechsher at all?

share|improve this question
No points for water or fresh (*peelable) fruits and vegetables. – yoel Mar 20 '13 at 0:39
For purchase before or during pesach? – Double AA Mar 20 '13 at 0:54
@Ariel I think you can combine multiple things in one answer. – Double AA Mar 20 '13 at 2:20
No one else took em, so I combined everything into one answer. – Ariel Mar 20 '13 at 6:35
up vote 1 down vote accepted

Extra Virgin olive oil. Source

All extra virgin olive oils are Kosher for Passover, as long as it bears the OU symbol

All other oils (including olive oil) require a reliable Kosher for Passover certification to be consumed on Passover.

Milk Source

Milk contains added vitamins that contain a slight chometz risk. Therefore it is best to purchase milk before Passover at which time chometz can be nullified (batel).

Regular Ground Coffee Source

All regular ground coffees are acceptable for Passover use when bearing an OU.

Decaffeinated coffee:
Coffee is often decaffeinated by means of ethyl acetate, which is derived from either kitniyot or chometz. Therefore, decaffeinated coffees are not acceptable for Passover unless specifically listed in the section of the Passover guide which contains items that to not require Passover certification.

Instant coffees often contain maltodextrin, which is derived from either corn (kitniyot) or wheat (chometz). Therefore, all instant coffees require special Passover certification unless explicitly mentioned in the section of the Passover guide which contains items that to not require Passover certification.

Salt Source

Salt that is iodized by means of a corn derivative is (kitniyos) and therefore iodized salt requires Passover certification. Un-iodized salt does not require Passover certification, nor does sea salt.

share|improve this answer
Nice. Consider turning this in to a community wiki so we can just assemble a large list. – yoel Mar 20 '13 at 21:09
Coffee is very limited, and even that is controversial - see footnote 2 here for some of the concerns. – Yishai Mar 24 '15 at 15:17

If you download the CRC kashrus app for Android or (I assume) for iPhone, there is a yearly update which includes a Passover section that has a large list of foods and tells which ones need reliable certification for Passover and which do not.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.