Sometimes a food item under rabbinical supervision claims on its package label not only to be under that supervision but also to contain only yashan grain, or to not contain sh'ruya, or to contain only chalav Yisrael, or to be m'vushal (if wine). I've always assumed that the agency whose certification mark appears on the package is also attesting to the other claim; but is that true, or does the certification mark only signify kashrus, with the other claims being only the manufacturer's?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
I e-mailed the Orthodox Union as follows:
Their reply was, in summary, that if the claim is "connected to" (their words) the "OU" mark, then the OU certifies that the claim is true, but if the claim is elsewhere on the packaging or label, then the OU doesn't certify that the claim is true.