Because of the halacha of Bishul Akum (or Bishul Yisrael, call it what you will), even if a food's ingredients are all kosher, it needs to have a Jew involved in the cooking process for it to be kosher. There are many details here, and some forms of cooking are different than others. But what about a flambé: if a non-Jew ignites it, does that make the food non-kosher?
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.
Here's how it works:
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
If the food is already cooked (to the level of Maachal ben Drusai), and the flambé is just adding some flavor, it would not be problematic (Y.D. 113:8)