Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Another question asks whether meat of a non-kosher species (Behemah Temeiah or Hayah Temeiah) makes one Fleishig (considered to have eaten meat, so cannot eat milk). My question then is about kosher species that are slaughtered incorrectly (Neveilah) and about kosher species slaughtered correctly but found to be a Tereifah. Does that make a person Fleishig?

I don't really think it should matter whether someone ate the meat BeHeter or BeIsur. What seems to be important is the type of animal it is.

So:

  1. Meat of a Behemah Tehorah, slaughtered correctly, may not be eaten cooked with milk from a Behemah Tehorah.

  2. Meat of a Behemah Tehorah, slaughtered correctly, may not be eaten cooked with milk from a Hayah Tehorah by rabbinic injunction.

  3. Meat of a Hayah Tehorah, slaughtered correctly, may not be eaten cooked with milk of either a Hayah Tehorah or a Behemah Tehorah, by Rabbinic injunction.

    But what about:

  4. Meat of a Behemah Tehorah, slaughtered incorrectly or

  5. Meat of a Hayah Tehorah, slaughtered incorrectly or

  6. Meat of a Behemah Tehorah found to be a Tereifah?

In other words, such meat is totally not Kosher, but if you eat it anyway, are you Fleishig?

Furthermore:

If the answer to the above is no, such non-Kosher meat has no Din of meat and milk prohibition, then if you have a Heter to eat such non-Kosher meat, can you eat it cooked with milk?

share|improve this question
    
To clarify, you aren't talking about cooking anything together, right? So even Beheimah Tehorah meat with Beheimah Tehorah milk is also a rabbinic injunction. –  Double AA Dec 19 '12 at 19:54
    
@DoubleAA, I've edited it. –  Seth J Dec 19 '12 at 19:57
    
@DoubleAA, thanks for that edit! –  Seth J Dec 19 '12 at 20:21
1  
per meta.stackexchange.com/a/95006/166155 –  Double AA Dec 19 '12 at 20:26
1  
Wow, you guys have been busy. Thank you all for your edits and improvements. Ping @msh210 –  Seth J Dec 20 '12 at 13:45
show 4 more comments

3 Answers

ein issur chal al issur does not apply to an issur kollel which i belive bassar vecholov is to treifah (as in gid hanashe )

as far as i understand the gzeiros rabanim you mentioned, are to prevent misunderstanding between meats that are begeder "lo sevashel", and those that arent. theres a klal "ein gozrim al davar sheaino matzui", ( im paraphrasing dont know proper quote atm but concept is for sure true) which would apply here, and that would not apply to gid hanashe which is in the same catagory as other meat of the same animal, and is very similar to regular meat.

the above definitely applies to a specific heter which is for sure "eino motzui" and i belive should apply to all non-kosher meat as well (unconfirmed )

however for a treifah i wouldn't know any good reason for it not to be an issur unless "ein issur chal..." would apply but as stated above my understading is that it does not

in conclusion:

  1. in regards to any non-kosher animal which a heter is given for it should not be of relevance to basaar becholov for reason of being eino matzui
  2. non-kosher animal without heter should also be non-fleishig for the same reason although theres room to argue that they are different
  3. as for treifah my understanding is that it will make you fleishig (and isnt begeder "ein issur chal al issur")

comment are wanted and helpful

share|improve this answer
2  
Your answer is full of information, and I thank you for your contribution. But it's a bit difficult to follow and get what your point is. Can you give a clear answer to the question of "if you eat the (non-Kosher) meat, are you now fleishig?" and "can you cook this meat with milk?" Thanks. –  Seth J Aug 16 '13 at 16:01
2  
@SethJ thanks for pointing that out i edited my post to include that –  tryingToGetProgrammingStraight Aug 16 '13 at 16:58
    
Nicely done. Thanks. –  Seth J Aug 16 '13 at 18:59
    
Although there's still the "furthermore" bit. But this is good enough for the main question. –  Seth J Aug 16 '13 at 19:00
add comment

Since "ein issur chal al issur," you cannot have a prohibition on top of a prohibition, and since eating neveilah is already prohibited, you are not violating the prohibition of eating basar-chalav if you were to eat it with milk. Therefore, since eating basar-chalav does not apply to it seems that it would not make you fleishig.

The Rambam goes even further and says that the prohibition of deriving benefit also doesn't apply with neveilah meat.

share|improve this answer
    
You're missing some steps in your logic. Eating milk and meat together is a rabbinic prohibition, not a biblical one, so the principle of "ein issur..." might not apply in the same way. Additionally, note that most Rishonim disagree with this wondrous point of the Rambam. The simpler understanding is that Basar beChalav does apply to Nevelah because it is a wider prohibition in that it prohibits deriving benefit as well. –  Double AA Jan 25 '13 at 15:37
add comment

IIRC the Gemara (see Besa 12a-b) says there that eating Gid HaNashe with milk is a prohibiton of Basar BeHalav. It would seem that it would also make you Fleishig since the meat isn't kosher but there is still the isur of Basar BeHalav.

share|improve this answer
    
"If if you remember correctly": sounds like the beginning of a formal logic problem –  Double AA Jan 25 '13 at 4:12
    
I understand the word formal, logic, and problem but I don't understand them together. Please explain. –  Hacham Gabriel Jan 25 '13 at 4:14
    
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Formal_logic#Formal_logical_systems A problem might involve symbolizing and proving the validity of things like: if P and if Q then if Q then R or not P then if Q then P and R. [This would be symbolized something like: (P & (Q -> (Q -> R v -P))) -> (Q -> P & R) ] –  Double AA Jan 25 '13 at 4:22
    
@DoubleAA if you have an argument please explain. –  Hacham Gabriel Jan 25 '13 at 5:00
    
Sorry, I was commenting how you wrote "If IIRC". IIRC stands for If I Remember Correctly. So you essentially wrote: If If I Remember Correctly which is redundant and a very unusual formulation to use outside of formal logic problems. –  Double AA Jan 25 '13 at 6:48
show 1 more comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.