Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

It says in Shulchan Aruch (OC Siman 629 Sif 3) that one may cover a Sukkah with "chitzim" (arrows) that don't have a "beis kibbul." However, if they do have a "beis kibbul," then it's not valid for schach. "Beis kibbul" basically means some opening or cup that can be a receptacle, and can therefore be made tamei (impure). The Magen Avraham writes (ad loc., Sif-Katan 2) that "kanim" (rods) that have a "beis kibbul" are valid, since they weren't made to be "m'kabel". Seemingly this is similar to our bamboo sticks or the like that people use for schach. However, what about if one would put some sort of "chomer" (a poison or the like) used to kill bugs inside of the sticks? I'm not talking about a spray or something of the like – rather something that has to it mamoshos (substance) that sits in the sticks and helps to kill the bugs. Even though these kanim, like the M"A says, weren't made to be a beis kibbul, since l'maseh (practically) they are being used in such a way, does this invalidate it for being schach?

share|improve this question
2  
Comments related to the use of jargon in questions have been moved to a dedicated chat room. –  Double AA Sep 19 '12 at 12:56
    
How would you translate חיצים? Arrows? Or just sticks? (I'm asking anybody, nobody in particular.) –  Seth J Sep 19 '12 at 14:46

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.