Take the 2-minute tour ×
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The status of eating yeast on Passover has me confused. Yeast is used in wine production which is ok to eat, but I've talked to people that won't eat yeast extract, which is not a leavener. Is there a correct answer or is this a gray area?

share|improve this question
    
Related: judaism.stackexchange.com/q/7294 –  msh210 2 days ago
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 4 down vote accepted

My understanding is it all depends on what the yeast grew. If it grew off of wheat or barley or the like, it's a problem.

As I heard from one OU lecture, an interesting ingredient in today's food production is "torula yeast." Paper makers had all this "pine wood soup" from cooking their shredded pulp, which they couldn't just pour down the drain for environmental reasons. So a type of yeast which loves to eat pine soup became popular, breaking down the waste product much better -- and as it turns out, torula yeast is a nice food ingredient, and all it's grown off is pine wood, so there are virtually no kashrut or allergy issues with it! (May still need Passover supervision, though.)

share|improve this answer
add comment

According to this glossary, Se'or, the somewhat lesser known, but no less prohibited, sibling of Hametz, includes the yeast extract products known as Marmite and Vegemite. Unfortunately, I don't know on what basis they make this assertion. I can think of at least two possible reasons, but I am not sure of either of them.

share|improve this answer
3  
I think they may be flat-out mistaken. Se'or is sourdough (used as a starter for leavening bread), not yeast. (Although maybe indeed the yeast in the products they mention are grown on a chametz substrate at some point, or that chametz is used at some other point in their manufacture.) –  Alex Apr 11 '12 at 23:27
    
@Alex - do you think that yeast extract would then be ok if it was grown on a food that was also ok to eat? –  Jarrett Widman Apr 11 '12 at 23:35
    
@JarrettWidman: at least theoretically, yes. Practically speaking, of course, CYLOR. –  Alex Apr 11 '12 at 23:39
    
@Alex, that is why I qualified it by stating I don't know the source for their assertion. –  Seth J Apr 12 '12 at 13:58
    
@JarrettWidman pinging you too. –  Seth J Apr 12 '12 at 13:58
add comment

It depends on the source of the yeast. Yeast itself is NOT chametz (it wasn't even known when chametz was "invented"). Indeed the only thing that is chametz is Se'or - that is essentially sourdough - made from one of the five grains. Although the word is used to mean sourdough, the law is that se'or is when one of the five grains has been in water for 18 minutes or longer.

The problem is that many (even most) yeast extracts are made from side-products of the beer making process (this is true, for example, of Marmite from the UK or SA and Vegemite). Beer is made using grain that is soaked and fermented (for much longer than 18 minutes) and as such is chametz, and so is the yeast extract that is derived from it.

It is often difficult to know what the source of the yeast in yeast extract is, which is why most rabbis simple say that it is chametz because it is "safek" - that is, there is doubt as to its source, it may well be chametz, so treat it as chametz. If you have a source of yeast extract where you find out what the source is, and it is not grain-based, you're fine.

share|improve this answer
2  
Chametz isn't Seor –  Shmuel Brin 2 days ago
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.