I've heard the argument that since everything in sushi is raw (assuming there are no non-kosher ingredients), and that since the rice is cooked in a rice cooker that is used only for rice, it's OK to eat. Is this true?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
This article by the CRC discusses this issue at length.
In short, the answer is: No, it is not okay to eat non-certified sushi. See the article for details, but some of the problems include:
Per the CRC-Chicago.