Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What are the 7 Noachide Laws? And where do we know them from?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

The primary codification of the Sheva Mitzvos B'nei Noach, the Seven Noachide Laws, can be found in the Rambam's Mishneh Torah [also known as Yad Chazakah] Hilchos Melachim 9:1 and are elaborated upon in chapters 9 and 10.

According to the Rambam they consist of the prohibition against Avodah Zarah (Idolatry),against cursing G-d, against Murder, against giluy arayos (incest/adultery), theft, eating flesh from a live animal, and the positive command to establish courts.

The source[s] of these mitzvos in Chazal are Sanhedrin 56a and Genesis Rabba 16:6.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.