Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
  • Who picks the Chief Rabbi of Israel/Cities? Is it a vote of all citizens/Shuls/Politicians or all of the above?

  • Who picks the lower Dayanim on the Rabbanut Beis Din? Is it the "Chief Rabbi" or some commitee?

  • Who picks the Chief Rabbi of the Tzahal?


  • According to @Vram, there is a difference between the appointment of Ashkenazi Chief Rabbis and Sefardi. What is the difference?
share|improve this question
I can't not ask...What's with the name? – Hacham Gabriel Feb 26 '12 at 21:27
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Under current Israeli law, the post of Chief Rabbi exists in only four cities - Jerusalem, Tel Aviv, Haifa, and BeerSheba. The Chief Rabbis are elected for 10 year terms. There are 150 members of the board tasked with choosing the country's two chief rabbis. This board is a mix of orthodox and secular.




share|improve this answer
This answer could be improved by stating how the 150 members of the board are picked. – avi Feb 27 '12 at 7:04
When I know I can add it, however at the moment this is all I could find. – Gershon Gold Feb 27 '12 at 17:41

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.