This might be too obscure for most people, but I want to put it out there anyway. Perry is fermented pears (sort of a pear cider, if you will - from what I read in Wikipedia, perry produced outside the UK is, in fact, called pear cider). While I cannot see any halachic problems with this (it's not made from grapes, and would not be processed in the same place as wine is), and in theory should also be kosher for passover, I have yet to find any indication that there is a kosher certification for perry. If anyone can shed any light on this (and if there is a kosher perry available, let me know!), I would appreciate it.
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It's 100% free, no registration required.
Here's how it works:
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
By Googling for pear cider kosher, I found a that the Kashrut Authority of Australia lists a few such products. (I'm not familiar with that agency, but it's endorsed by the Chicago Rabbinical Council, for what it's worth.)